RSS

Unique Dining Experience: Skyline Café in Tyler, Texas

26 Oct

Skyline Cafe viewed from the parking lot

On August 16, 2011, my best friend, Carol, and I visited Skyline Café for the first time. It was memorable. While waiting on my order, I accidentally spilled my 20-ounce Pepsi all over the table and floor. Becky’s employees promptly cleaned up the mess and brought me another drink. Although I was embarrassed by this incident, the friendliness exhibited to me by the employees on my first visit told me that this was a special place. Before I even finished my meal, I knew I would be coming back, not just for the food, but for the ambience and friendliness of the people there.

Carol and I have been back many times, and each time, Becky Kalmowitz (Owner), Larry (her husband), and the wait staff have been very friendly and conversational. These people are genuinely interested in seeing that their customers are happy, and have often honored special requests. For example, Carol loves burgers with sautéed onions instead of raw onions. This simple honored request impressed Carol and me, again.

Becky Kalmowitz (Owner) and her Husband, Larry

I usually have the daily special for $6.99, which includes a 20-ounce drink. The hamburgers are also out of sight, especially the Belly Buster, a hamburger on a homemade 10-inch bun with a full pound of Angus beef. Wow! There are also many, many other choices on the lunch menu. Breakfast is also served every morning, and there is a $3.99 breakfast special you’ll really like.

Be sure to try some of their delicious cakes and pies, baked by Becky’s mother, Elayne, the pastry chef.

One of the things I like about Skyline Café is the ambience. There are vintage jet fighter planes sitting on the tarmac in front of the huge plate glass windows. You can also see the sky and the runway, where planes take off and land while you’re dining. Plenty of parking exists close to the building, since this terminal is now used just for private aircraft departures and arrivals.

Cozy interior just before the crowd arrived

To be notified of their daily specials, be sure to visit Skyline Cafe at http://www.skylinecafe.org/ or on Facebook.

Skyline Cafe on Urbanspoon

Location of Skyline Cafe

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 26, 2011 in Restaurant Reviews

 

One response to “Unique Dining Experience: Skyline Café in Tyler, Texas

  1. Carol

    October 26, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Good article!!! Wonderful place to eat!!

     

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

